Mending Me Wellness at My Day Gardens

Wellness Services and Quality Products

Understanding and Balancing Your Chakras

Understanding and Balancing Your Chakras

 Chakra means Wheel in Sanskrit.


The body has spinning energy centers that look like spinning wheels and are called, Chakras.










As with all things in our reality, they are linked to sound, light and color.  To heal, is to bring the chakras into alignment and balance, then tounderstand the nature of creation and your purpose in it.

 Numerous books have been written on the subject of the chakras the body's energy generator system. In order to understand Reiki's potential as a facilitator for personal/spiritual growth, a minimal understanding of these energy centers is helpful.When researching the Chakras you will  find that depending on whether you are following Tibetan Buddhism or Hinduism or that of the Seven Seals of Revelations that definitions of the chakras very a little.  For teaching to the masses I have put together the best of all the information gathered to give the best insight for all to benefit from. This is a constant work in progress so make many visits back to learn more as I pull together more information. 

Our physical body consists of  various levels of vibratory rates of energy. Within our tangible physical body there exist numerous energy centers of yet higher frequencies than those previously acknowledged by science.There are supposedly over three hundred of these energy centers in the body.  However, the focus of this page will be on the seven major chakras and the hand chakras.

 After a babies conception, the earliest stages of embryological development focuses on the cerebrospinal system. It is through this system that the body receives its life force. The seven major chakras are high frequency energy centers situated in close proximity to the cerebrospinal system. These energy centers may be compared to the energy generators of the developing organism or the `blueprint'.

As centers of transformation, the chakras bring down subtle energies and help transform them into nerve, cellular and hormonal energy within the  body. The subtle pathways which assist this transfer between psychological and physical energy are called nadis.

The physical, mental and spiritual aspects of the body work together and are interconnected.  Therefore, it is important to remember that any disorder at the physiological level will always be, to some extent, reflected at the subtler levels.

The seven major chakras have many congruity of parts with one another and with the whole. The concordance of primary importance is that of the endocrine glands. The endocrine system affects the supply of hormonal secretions into the blood stream. These secretions determine growth rate, sexual development and physiological activities. The chakras also have corresponding organs, qualities or emotions, colors and elements. 


Here's a quick summary of the 7 Chakras:


1. Root Chakra - Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.
Location: Base of spine in tailbone area.
Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

Learn More about the Root Chakra


2. Sacral Chakra - Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.
Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

                       Learn More about the Sacral Chakra


3. Solar Plexus Chakra - Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.
Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

Learn More about the  Solar plexus


4. Heart Chakra - Our ability to love.
Location: Center of chest just above heart.
Emotional issues: Love, joy, inner peace.

Learn More about the Heart Chakra


 5. Throat Chakra - Our ability to communicate.
Location: Throat.
Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

Learn More about the Throat Chakra


  6. Third Eye Chakra - Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Location: Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
Emotional issues: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

                        Learn More about the Third Eye Chakra


 7. Crown Chakra - The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
Location: The very top of the head.
Emotional issues: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.

Learn More about the Crown Chakra



1 - Get an image of the chakra system so you can see where the chakras are located on the body.

2 - Lay down on your back. Have your friend (or do this for yourself) hold a pendulum (or locket or a necklace) about an inch above where the chakra is located. You will know that you have located the chakra because you will see the pendulum or pendant move in a circular pattern. (the more in touch with energy you become, the easier this process will be).

Now - how to tell if your chakra is in balance or out of balance. An out of balance chakra will spin counter-clockwise. A chakra that is in balance will spin clockwise. This is one way.  I ask myself yes and no questions first to see how my pendulum reacts.  I ask if the  open.  If I get a matching response to my yes.  It is open.  If I get a matching response to my no, it is closed.  If it just spins or stands still it is blocked.  The person you are doing the reading on can block energy if they are holding their breath.  Ask them to breath.  Many people in my experience block their heart chakra to protect themself.  It is open when they breath.

Also, note that your chakras are dynamic. A thought about something that is troubling you could cause chakras to spin backwards.


 We can influence our chakras, our health, and our lives by using different techniques such as:

Doterra Sales


By Appointment only.

Tues 10-7

Wed 10-6

Thursday 10-6

Friday 10-7

Saturday 10-4


Amanda Rank - LMT

Every Other Saturday 10-4


Matt Connarton- RT/CH,

Hours vary by week

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you as soon as possible
Oops. An error occurred.
Click here to try again.